h1

Sunday Driving On A Thursday

June 20, 2008

I wrote this song a few months ago. It’s probably one of my favorites. I actually took my time with it and had fun. And I’ve yet to arrange some music for it. Acoustic, maybe?

‘Sunday Driving On A Thursday’

Verse

A painfully honest turn of events
An unfair and fitting ending
I didn’t mean to build up my hopes
Colliding with second guesses
Disguised as secrets and stress
And I, I’ll take my leave
I still believe in happy endings
But, this complex case of clever and wit
I’ve been on my own forever
And it’s all caught up with me
If you think you can have it both ways
You’ve got another thing coming
Well, it doesn’t matter now
Because I’m well on my way
To nowhere fighting feelings
That don’t carry any weight with me

Chorus

If I’m such a runaway success
Then why do I feel like a loser?
Trying hard to impress those who will listen
This is me leaving in record time
I’ve been known to lie so convincingly
The irony is not lost on me
I’m not who I pretend to be
A role model finding courage in a bottle
Clean faces hiding dirty secrets
Let’s trade places and see where it gets us
Words said in anger can’t be taken back
There’s nothing to explain because I can’t explain it
I’ll need a point first just to drive it home
Settle into a routine
Settling in too deep now
Don’t settle for anything less than

Verse

I’m forced to hide my head in shame
They’ll say ‘whatever happened to what’s his name?’
And the band will play on in a cynical number
With good reason, but the meaning escapes me
A Hollywood version of love sounds so promising
I’ll need something to take an interest in
May we never pass this way again
That was yesterday and yesterday’s gone to my head
I’ve never been one to say I’m sorry
And it couldn’t have come at a worse time
Don’t worry about the future, it will take care of itself
I worry about myself and it goes like this
I’m a distant liar with a tear-stained past
Actions speak louder than words
But they won’t carry any weight with me
Instead I got carried away

Chorus

If I’m such a runaway success
Then why do I feel like a loser?
Bad press is good press and I’m already late
This is me leaving you in record time
I’ve been known to lie so convincingly
The irony is not wasted on me
I wish I was who I pretend to be
A role model finding courage in a bottle
Clean faces hiding dirty secrets
Let’s trade places and see where it gets us
The understatement of the year
I thought I was making my feelings clear
I’ll need a point first just to drive it home
Settle into a routine
Settling in too deep now
Don’t settle for anything less than

Bridge

Would you care to dance with a bloodstained soul?
Keeping myself under complete control from you
Mistaken for someone you used to know
For once I’m glad to just sleep alone
I’ll drive all night to prove me wrong
A goodbye is the saddest song you’ve ever heard
I’ll be the saddest song

Outro

And the band will play on in a cynical number
I’ll need something just to take an interest
Colliding with second guesses
Disguised as secrets and stress
And I worry about myself and it goes like this
I’m a distant liar with a tear-stained past
And I, I’ll take my leave
I still believe in happy endings

Leave a Reply

