h1

Sleep..

June 20, 2008

Ah, sleep. Everybody needs it, right? Well this little number was written one afternoon when I woke up. I was getting ready to start another eventful day of procrastinating when it hit me. So I grabbed my guitar and wrote this in like ten minutes.

‘Dreaming of Sleep’

Verse
I woke up this morning with mixed expectations
Turned the radio on to my favorite station
Had breakfast in bed; the cereal was outdated
A blatant expression, the new face of indifference
I’m not one to greet the morning with a smile
I might move an inch, but it could take awhile
So, I hummed to myself as the music kept playing
The voice of the singer calmed all of my senses

Pre Chorus
Don’t try so hard
Don’t try so hard
You need to get it out of your system
Sound the alarms
Sound the alarms
So sound asleep and I guess I missed them

Chorus
A good heart is hard to find
And the meaning is never clear
Abandon those you’ve left behind
Creating the right atmosphere
Sleep has qualities I want in a friend
I promise it will all work out
It’ll turn out all right in the end
In my heart there is no doubt

Verse
A hopeless desire to call into action
A turn of events, a positive reaction
From the depths of my sleep, past the point of turning back
The same old excuses coming back into life
I’m no longer fighting my eyes with indifference
With my head on the pillow it won’t make a dent
And I’ll enter a room with no windows or doors
I’ll quietly sit and wait until closing time

Pre Chorus
Don’t try so hard
Don’t try so hard
You need to get it out of your system
Sound the alarms
Sound the alarms
So sound asleep and I guess I missed them

Chorus
A good heart is hard to find
And the meaning is never clear
Abandon those you’ve left behind
Creating the right atmosphere
Sleep has qualities I want in a friend
I promise it will all work out
It’ll turn out all right in the end
In my heart there is no doubt

Bridge
Music is the food of love
So, play on, play on, play on
Don’t be so hard on yourself
Breathe new life into an old dream (play on, play on, play on)
They’re for you and you alone
Don’t feel so alone and empty (play on, play on, play on)
I’m in a sentimental mood
In complete solitude
Which comes with complimentary mixed feelings (play on, play on, play on)
Don’t pass up the chance
I won’t pass up this chance
I won’t let life pass me by

Outro
Collecting my thoughts
Weighing down my head
Forcing me into a restless state again
No, they won’t be ignored
They can’t be ignored
I’d rather make memories by preserving them
And another thing before I go
The smile has returned to my face
And I’ll dream the hours away
Which I’ve left by the means of escape

Leave a Reply

